Ask before Reuse

The Museum of Telephony receives a lot of referrals on a daily basis. The average hits is normally 100, often occurring two to three times a week. Just recently the site celebrated it’s 35,000th hit since the launch in 2012.

Given WordPress’ ability to see referrals (however unlike other sites, I can’t get location, specific URLs, etc) there has been questionable links.  Some sites I have asked to remove to protect the brand, and quality of this site (some have described this as a “weblog” for an example.)

No worse, is some websites that are trying to tinker with it’s URL and see what it looks like on mobile. Even better, there is a website that has been taking the content and using it for an alleged syndication.

I am going to be direct: The Museum’s layout will never change. It’s the makeup and identity of what makes this site special. If I go all minimal to please the engineers of the world to not look as sexy, then The Museum goes down.  Also in a mobile world, editing is more complex and often more typos occur.

I put a lot of hard work to be accessible to a wide audience. You can’t easily learn the history of the telephone on a small fat tablet.

I need to be honest here: About 99.9% percent of the content is my own work, therefore it’s been liberally copyrighted, but I need to put an end to people who are linking my site with a questionable quality standards; and worse these open source sites . MY CONTENT IS COPYRIGHTED. ANY USE FOR SOMEONE ELSE’S SHARING WILL BE PROHIBITED. IF I HAVE TO FILE A DMCA CLAIM, THEN I WILL SURE AS HELL DO!

Be warned, this site will be on higher and elevated surveillance monitoring the incoming traffic and  other unauthorized use of syndicated content

This site is getting better in terms of traffic, chatter, and other things. You want mobile? Well there’s an Instagram and a Facebook page. That’s all. You don’t need to rip my stuff and post it on an open source site and violate my work and treat it as public domain. And if you do not know English as a Primary Language, talk-to-me first! Click on the contact link.

In short, don’t steal my content without permission, second The Museum will never go to mobile primarily, there are other portals for that. If you call me old fashioned, then so be it! It’s the purpose of this site to begin with!

~The Content Management Team at The Museum of Telephony~

 

Leave a Reply

