(Wayback Wednesday) Self at a Telephone Booth, Circa 2000

 

These were taken in Ogunquit, Maine circa 2000 during an off season vacation to the state. It’s not that far from the border on Interstate 95. Most of the week was wet, cold and rainy, but it didn’t stop me and my mother to walk a couple or so miles to the different landmarks, such as a lighthouse, giftshops and telephone booths. This telephone booth was not from the LEC (Bell Atlantic/Verizon at the time now Fairpoint) but maintenance by another company. The booth to the left of me appeared to not have a phone, and the one I was in did provide a dialtone.

Another reason why my mother took this picture along with me in there is because this was the first phone booth I ever went into really. Most payphones were in open nature and a 3 wall plus folding door was rare to see. I did capture booths and took pictures of myself in them, as for historical purposes.

As you are probably aware, payphones have been eroding since the mass spread of mobile phones.

On a side note, this will be my last series of posts for a while. I’ve been busy and been dealing with health and well being issues. I’ve did some updates in August, but now I need time off.  As such, I need to take time away from my curating duties to deal with those issues.

If I find time on the site, I’ll be fixing the pages and doing some redecorating of the pages. Other than that, hope to see you around 2016.

*

Leave a Reply

